Akili Dada

First published on HapaKenya.

Dr Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg has been awarded the New African Woman in Education award at the 2016 New African Woman Awards. The awards were in conjunction with the New African Women Forum and were held at the Andaz Hotel in London on 10th March 2016. The awards recognize women in 11 categories.

Dr. Wanjiru is the Director of the African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)that equips women agricultural scientists with research and leadership skills. Prior to joining AWARD, Wanjiru founded and served as Executive Director of Akili Dada, a leadership incubator for young women. She has also served as an assistant professor of Politics at the University of San Francisco and a lecturer in International Relations at Hekima College, a constituent college of the Catholic University of Eastern Africa. She holds a PhD and a master’s degree in Political Science from the University of Minnesota, and a BA in Politics from Whitman College, Washington, U.S.A.

Other Kenyan women who had in the awards include: Maisa Auma (Education), Yvonne Ndege (Media), Hanna Wanjie Ryder (On the Rise) and Vivian Onano (On the Rise).

The full list of winners is below:

  1. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Chairperson of the AU Commission – New African Woman in Politics & Public Office award.
  2. Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi, Special Envoy on Gender at the African Development Bank – New African Woman of the Year Award
  3. Zuriel Oduwole, Education activist and filmmaker – New African Woman on the Rise Award.
  4. Obiageli Ezekwesili, the face of the #Bringbackourgirls campaign – New African Woman Award in Civil Society.
  5. Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg,  Director of the African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) – New African Woman in Education award
  6. Olajumoke Adenowo, Architect, Gender equality advocate – New African Woman in Business Awards.
  7. Winnifred Selby, co-founder of the Ghana Bamboo Bikes Initiative – New African Woman in Science, Technology & Innovation award.
  8. Arunma Oteh, Vice President and Treasurer at the World Bank – New African Woman in Finance and Banking.
  9. Mo Abudu, founder EbonyLifeTV, first African woman to launch a Pan-Africa TV channel – New African Woman Award for Media
  10. Almaz Ayana, accomplished long-distance runner – New African Woman in Sport Award.
  11. Amma Asante, BAFTA award-winning director – New African Woman in Arts and Culture Award

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

clear formSubmit

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.